Pedagogy vs. Andragogy

Awesome%20Chart%20on%20%22%20Pedagogy%20Vs%20Andragogy…

Objective:In chapter one of the textbook “Student Engagement Techniques” The author mentions Russ Edgerton’s influential ‘Higher Education White Paper’ where he says “Learning about things does not enable students to acquire the abilities and understanding they will need for the twenty-first century. We need pedagogies of engagement that will turn out the kinds of resourceful, engaged workers and citizens that America now requires. [p. 38]

Reflective:Reading this got me to wondering about the word pedagogy because I learned about it in my Montessori education. Then I found the word Andragogy and wondered what the difference was.

Interpretive:I looked up the definition and Wikipedia says pedagogy is the discipline that deals with the theory and practice of education; it thus concerns the study of how best to teach. Instructive strategies are governed by the pupil’s background knowledge and experience, situation and environment as well as learning goals set by the student and teacher. Andragogy is defined as the methods ,techniques or practice of teaching adults.

Decisional: I love this article and how it shows the differences, particularly how a young learner is reliant on teacher for what and how they’re taught where an adult learner determined what or if they learn. Young learner is told they need to learn [external] and an adult has trigger feeling that says learn to be success [internal]. I will keep this in mind when I am instructing my students. I also feel that as a student myself I can relate to the feeling that I must learn this to be successful.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

