Brookfield – Chapter 1/2

In reading chapter one of Brookfield I found myself feeling so relieved. I have taken on the college instructor adventure with no formal training until I began the PIDP course in September 2016. Before that I had taught for two years by flying by the seat of my pants! I have 26 years in the field that I teach but no one taught me how to share that experience with the students. There were days when I felt I should quit, there were days when I felt I should be fired and there were days when I felt like I could conquer the world [these were few and far between]. So as I read Brookfield’s first chapter I find comfort in his words. I have gain a great deal of knowledge since beginning the PIDP course and I look forward the sharing that knowledge when I begin teaching in September. I especially like the speech on page 4 that he address his class for not joining the discussion. I will for sure mention something like this with my classes. I found an article that has some great “discussion” tips.

tips

Leave a Reply

